Cocteau Twins' Elizabeth Fraser Is Releasing Her First New Music in 13 Years for Record Store Day

The debut EP of Sun's Signature, her duo with partner Damon Reece, will be pressed 8000 times for the occasion

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Feb 21, 2022

Is this heaven or just Las Vegas? Either way, Elizabeth Fraser of Scottish dream pop elders the Cocteau Twins is releasing her first new music in 13 years in honour of Record Store Day.

The RSD exclusive EP is the self-titled debut from Fraser's project with partner Damon Reece (Massive Attack, Spiritualized) under the name Sun's Signature. There will be 8,000 copies pressed worldwide, 3,700 of which will be headed to independent record stores in North America.

While Fraser recently teamed up with Oneohtrix Point Never, her last solo outing was 2009 standalone single "Moses," co-written and produced by Reece.

The songs included on the EP have also been around for some time, including "Underwater" — a track Fraser released as an extremely limited single in 2000, with only 300 copies pressed. You can hear it below, where you'll also find the rest of the Sun's Signature tracklisting.

Last week, the full list of Record Store Day 2022 releases was unveiled, following earlier news of a Portraits of Her compilation album helmed by the likes of Laura Jane Grace, Julien Baker and RSD global ambassador Taylor Swift ahead of the April 23 holiday.

Sun's Signature:

Side A:
1. Underwater
2. Golden Air

Side B:
1. Bluedusk
2. Apples
3. Make Lovely the Day

Latest Coverage