claire rousay Announces New Album 'sentiment' Featuring Lala Lala, Hand Habits

Hear the lead single "head"

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Feb 6, 2024

Los Angeles-based experimental and ambient musician claire rousay has announced her forthcoming new collection, led by the single "head."

sentiment lands on April 19 via Thrill Jockey. It follows the prolific artist's smattering of most recent releases, including 2022's Never Stop Texting Me and 2021's a softer focus, as well as her latest Bandcamp exclusive aiding families in Gaza.

While rousay's work has mostly dwelled in the ambient sphere, sentiment is said to have a more pop-forward approach to its themes of loneliness, nostalgia, sentimentality, guilt and sex. "I have been on a quest to communicate my feelings and ideas as clearly as possible lately," she explained in a statement. "Pop seemed like the way to do that this time."

To assist in this venture, she's recruited Lala Lala and Hand Habits to each feature on a song on the 10-track album. Our first taste of rousay's latest experiment is "head," which combines elements of hyperpop, emo and post-rock. rousay's heavily altered voice is at the centre of the track, all chopped up and processed almost beyond recognition, as she sings at an ambling tempo about giving head, among other things.

Hear the song below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.


1. 4pm
2. head
3. it could be anything
4. asking for it
5. iii
6. lover’s spit plays in the background
7. sycamore skylight
8. please 5 more minutes (feat. Lala Lala)
9. w sunset blvd
10. ily2 (feat. Hand Habits)

Pre-order sentiment.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage