Chastity Gets Dallas Green, Stefan Babcock for New Album 'Suffer Summer'

Hear Brandon Williams on his latest single "Pummeling"
Chastity Gets Dallas Green, Stefan Babcock for New Album 'Suffer Summer'
Whitby's Brandon Williams has served up a handful of new tunes for us this year as Chastity, including "Dying to Live," which is due to be featured on his upcoming third studio album Suffer Summer, announced today. The Canadian artist's latest will arrive via Dine Alone Records/Deathwish on January 13.

In tandem with the announcement, Chastity shares new single "Pummeling," which is about "getting jumped mentally," according to the artist.

Williams elaborated in a statement: "I've always done my best to try to out-run these things before they catch up to me, but now I'm trying to just become stronger, to not let them fuck me up so bad."

Its accompanying video, directed by longtime collaborator Justin Singer, also arrives today and stars Williams alongside many of his close friends, who skate, dance, fight and cycle around numerous southern Ontario landmarks. 

In addition to "Pummeling" and "Dying to Live," the 10-track Suffer Summer also features contributions by a few fellow Ontarians, PUP's Stefan Babcock — on album cuts "Real World" and "When You Go Home I Withdrawal" — and Alexisonfire's Dallas Green on "Vicious Circle," which was co-written with Williams' partner and Ellis bandleader, Linnea Siggelkow.

"It was so great to work with Stefan: just his attention to detail, song structure, and everything," said Williams. "He's a legend and has pumped my tires so much in an actual practical way that has given me courage throughout Chastity."

Speaking on his collaboration with Green, Williams added: "After we put strings on this song it was just too damn beautiful for my voice. Dallas' voice reached right into that beauty. Recording this was the single most surreal and sentimental moment of the project for me I think, with how formative Alexis was for me."

Written in 2019 and recorded in 2020, Suffer Summer is described as a "meditation on happiness." The forthcoming album marks the third instalment in a trilogy of full-length releases from Chastity, thematically capping off the body of work with a collection of tracks that tackle themes of addiction, isolation, suburban life and resilience.

Watch Chastity's new video for "Pummeling" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting.

Suffer Summer:

1. Real World
2. Pummeling
3. Dying to Live
4. When You Go Home I Withdraw
5. The Barbed Wire Fence Around Happiness
6. Somersault
7. Happy Face
8. Overstimulate
9. Vicious Circle ft. Dallas Green
10. Smiling

Pre-order Suffer Summer.