Bullion Teams Up with Carly Rae Jepsen, Panda Bear on New Album 'Affection'

Hear the CRJ-featuring "Rare" now

BY Kaelen BellPublished Jan 24, 2024

UK Producer and songwriter Bullion — a.k.a. Nathan Jenkins, whose credits include work with Nilüfer Yanya, Avalon Emerson, Westerman, Carly Rae Jepsen and Ben Howard — has announced his new album Affection, which includes collaborations with Jepsen, Panda Bear and Charlotte Adigéry.

Today we get to hear “Rare,” Bullion’s Jepsen collaboration — it’s a lovely, humid bit of bleary synthpop, and Jepsen and Jenkins sound great together. The song came together during Toronto sessions for Jepsen’s latest record. In a statement about the track, she said:

I’ve been a fan of Bullion from the first listen. His music just sends me some place good every time. We started writing together over Zoom sessions in lockdown and then met in real life in Toronto, London and L.A. When I first reached out to him, I said, "It would be fun to see how your world of music and mine could play together," and it’s been one of the coolest discoveries. To be featured on “Rare” is such a sweet start to 2024. And as a fan still, I’m really looking forward to this whole album. 

Affection first took shape after Jenkins moved back to London from Lisbon, where he’d relocated in 2018. Returning home, the producer “increasingly found himself reflecting on his place in the world, seeking affection in place of cynicism.”

Affection arrives April 26 on Ghostly. Check out “Rare” and see the album’s tracklist below.


1. A City's Never (feat. Panda Bear) 
2. Affection 
3. Rare (feat. Carly Rae Jepsen) 
4. Your Father 
5. The Flooding 
6. Cinch 
7. World_train (feat. Charlotte Adigéry) 
8. Cavalier 
9. Once, in a Borrowed Car 
10. Open Hands 
11. 40 Waves 
12. Hard to Do 

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage