BIG|BRAVE Detail New Album 'nature morte'

Hear crushing opener "carvers, farriers and knaves" below

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Oct 20, 2022

BIG|BRAVE have returned with details of a new album. The exploratory Montreal trio will share nature morte on February 24 via Thrill Jockey.

Following last year's Leaving None but Small Birds, BIG|BRAVE's team-up with Rhode Island duo the Body, nature morte was recorded alongside engineer/producer Seth Manchester.

Per a release, the six-song set is said to grapple with "the folly of hope, the consequences of trauma, and often centres on the subjugation of femininity in all its pluralities." Guitarist/vocalist Robin Wattie adds, "It is violent and terrible. It is crushing and alarming. It is common and basic. It is catastrophic and disheartening."

Opener "carvers, farriers and knaves" is the first song to arrive, and you can bear witness to its weighty sounds below.

Exclaim! named the collaborative Leaving None but Small Birds among the 50 Best Albums of 2021, while that year also saw BIG|BRAVE share standalone group album Vital. This past July, guitarist Mat Ball shared a solo LP of Amplified Guitar.

Pre-order nature morte.

nature morte:

1. carvers, farriers and knaves
2. the one who bornes a weary load
3. my hope renders me a fool
4. the fable of subjugation
5. a parable of the trusting
6. the ten of swords

Latest Coverage