The Bicycles Return with 'Stop Thinking So Much'

The Bicycles Return with 'Stop Thinking So Much'
Back in 2009, Toronto pop cuties the Bicycles went on hiatus and hinted that it might be the last we ever heard of them. The band finally returned to the stage back in the fall, though, and now they are preparing to release a new full-length. Stop Thinking So Much is due out April 2 on Fuzzy Logic Recordings.

The album was recorded with James Anderson (Sandro Perri, Bruce Peninsula) at Toronto 6 Nassau studio, mixed with Leon Taheny (Owen Pallett, Ohbijou) and mastered by João Carvalho (Sloan, the Sheepdogs). Four of the five band members take on singing and songwriting duties, and the collection features a small handful of unnamed guest contributions.

It reportedly finds the band shifting away from their cutesy former sound in favour of yacht rock, country-influenced ballads and dark rock songs. That said, a press release notes that this "warm, hi-fi album" follows the band's formula of short, catchy tunes by packing 12 songs into a little more than 30 minutes.

To sample what the album has in store, scroll past the tracklist to stream three new songs: the spaghetti western-tinged "Appalachian Mountain Station," the smooth and groovy "Bandana Cat," and the brightly bouncy "Sun Don't Want to End."

The Bicycles have a small handful of Ontario shows coming up. Their schedule is below.

Stop Thinking So Much:

1. Appalachian Mountain Station
2. Baby Boy
3. Congratulations
4. Bandana Cat
5. Sun Don't Want to End
6. Goldeneye
7. Break It
8. Bouncin' Off the Bay
9. Stop Thinking So Much
10. Burning Sand
11. Try Too Hard
12. Nap Trap

Tour dates:

4/3 Guelph, ON - Kazoo Fest
4/4 Toronto, ON - The Lula Lounge
4/5 London, ON - Call the Office