Best Coast's Bethany Cosentino Announces Solo Debut 'Natural Disaster,' Shares New Song

She's also shared that Best Coast is on an indefinite hiatus

BY Kaelen BellPublished May 3, 2023

Best Coast's Bethany Cosentino has announced her debut solo album Natural Disaster, arriving July 28 on Concord Records — you can listen to lead single "It's Fine" below. Alongside the album announcement, Cosentino has also shared that Best Coast are officially on an indefinite hiatus. 

Produced by Butch Walker, Natural Disaster was written in Nashville and Los Angeles. "It's Fine" is a hooky confection of a song, and it sees Cosentino moving toward a poppy, alt-country zone that has flavours of Sheryl Crow. The new single comes attached to a video directed by Janell Shirtcliff. 

In a statement about Natural Disaster, Cosentino wrote: 

When I look at all the artists I find most influential, the common thread is that they take risks and continue exploring different versions of themselves. My goal is to keep growing and challenging myself and living outside any kind of box, to keep on evolving as an artist and a person. And if anyone's feeling stagnant, I hope this record inspires them to see what else life has to offer. It's really scary to take those risks and make big changes in your life, but what you find on the other side can be so magical.

About the decision to put Best Coast on hold, Cosentino said: 

My identity as a human being, and as an artist, has been so wrapped up in Best Coast for over a decade. The decision to pause the project indefinitely, and explore a new side of myself, was a very difficult one to make — but it felt necessary for me. Life is too short to not give yourself what you feel you need and want. I am excited about being just Bethany Cosentino for a while and figuring out who I am outside of the 'Bethany from Best Coast' box I've lived in for such a long time.

Best Coast's last album was 2020's Always Tomorrow.

Check out the Natural Disaster tracklist and listen to "It's Fine" below.

Natural Disaster:  

1. Natural Disaster
2. Outta Time
3. It's Fine
4. Easy
5. A Single Day
6. My Own City
7. For a Moment
8. Calling on Angels
9. Real Life
10. Hope You're Happy Now
11. It's a Journey
12. I've Got News for You

Latest Coverage