Animal Collective Announce New Album 'Isn't It Now?'

The follow-up to 2022's 'Time Skiffs' arrives in September

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jul 26, 2023

"New artwork alert!"

Animal Collective have such proclaimed today, sharing an Instagram post featuring the cover art for a yet-to-be-detailed project entitled Isn't It Now? 

UPDATE (7/26, 10:20 a.m. ET): The band have confirmed that the new album, co-produced by Russell Elevado, will arrive on September 29 via Domino. They've also shared a new single, "Soul Capturer." Hear that below.

There isn't much more information at this point, but on a subsequent slide, there are prospective song titles stitched into the patchwork quilt. A total of nine of them, to be specific, including "Defeat" — the 22-minute epic AnCo released about a month ago.

Presumably, Isn't It Now? is the follow-up to the band's 2022 offering, Time Skiffs; or possibly even a companion album, looking at the similarities between the artwork styles.

Check it out for yourself below, along with the possible tracklist (if we've properly deciphered the needlework!) Stay tuned for more information on the release.

Isn't It Now?:

1. Soul Capturer
2. Genie's Open
3. Broke Zodiac
4. Magicians from Baltimore
5. Defeat
6. Gem & I
7. Stride Rite
8. All the Clubs Are Broken
9. King's Walk

Pre-order Isn't It Now?

Latest Coverage