Absolutely Free Announce Debut LP, Premiere New Single

Absolutely Free Announce Debut LP, Premiere New Single
It's been a couple of years since Absolutely Free first revealed plans for their debut LP, and the final results will finally hit fans' ears this fall. Their eponymous first full-length drops October 14 through Lefse Records.

UPDATE: The album will also arrive on the same day via Arts & Crafts in Canada.

A press release notes that the eight-song effort, which follows the group's "UFO"/"Glass Tassel" and "On the Beach"/"Clothed Woman, Sitting" singles, had the trio of former DD/MM/YYYY members Matt King (drums/vocals), Moshe Rozenberg (synths/drums) and Mike Claxton (synths/bass) hitting a Toronto studio with Fucked Up's Mike Haliechuk working the boards. The debut LP is said to mix in everything from Phil Spector-styled pop and African polyrhythms, to psychedelia and Krautrock throughout its runtime.

A highly percussive, hypnotic and symphonic first preview from the platter called "Beneath the Air" has arrived via a SoundCloud stream, which you can sample down below. Elsewhere, opener "Window of Time" is said to feature "cyclic organ" and "plaintive chanting," while "Spiral Jetty" is described as an eight-minute epic built around "mountainous rolling drums" and "sun-kissed synths." You'll find the tracklisting down below.

The press releases also mentions that in addition to the upcoming LP, Absolutely Free are putting work into an as-yet-undetailed film soundtrack, remixes and the third instalment in their singles series. There's also a North American tour in the works.

Absolutely Free:

1. Window of Time
2. Beneath The Air
3. Striped Light
4. Burred Lens
5. Earth II
6. My Dim Age
7. Vision's
8. Spiral Jetty

Read our recent interview with Absolutely Free here.