Western Canadian Music Awards Unveils 2023 Nominees

Leith Ross, Dan Mangan, Cartel Madras, William Prince, Cartel Madras, KEN mode and more have been nominated

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jul 4, 2023

Nominees for the 2023 Western Canadian Music Awards have been revealed by the Western Canadian Music Alliance.

Today, the full list of nominees ​in both artistic and industry award categories was shared ahead of the hardware being handed out this October as part of BreakOut West 2023.

Among the nominees are Leith Ross, Dan Mangan, BegoniaSnotty Nose Rez KidsWilliam PrinceJill BarberMariel Buckley, Cartel Madras, Dill the Giant, MAUVEY, KEN mode, Jayli WolfGord Bamford, the Zolas and many more.

BreakOut West executive director Michael Dawson shared in a statement, "On behalf of Breakut West and the Western Canadian Music Alliance we would like to congratulations [sic] to all of the nominees and thank all of the artists and industry who submit. Your hard work, talent, and integrity is an inspiration."

Find the complete list of nominees for artistic and industry awards below. Award winners will be revealed during BreakOut West 2023, taking place this year in Kelowna, BC, from October 11–15.

2023 Western Canadian Music Awards
Artistic Nominees:
BreakOut Artist of the Year
Boslen [BC]
Katie Tupper [SK]
Leith Ross [MB]
Mariel Buckley [AB]
Children's Artist of the Year
Beppie [AB]
Ginalina [BC]
Ira Pettle [BC]
Mom Bop [BC]
Will et Seeka [BC]  
Classical Artist / Ensemble of the Year
Karl Stobbe [MB]
Krisztina Szabó [BC]
Mark Takeshi McGregor [BC]
Megumi Masaki [MB]
musica intima [BC]  
Classical Composer of the Year                     
Christopher Tyler Nickel – Oboe d'amore Quintet, IV. Con fuoco [BC]
Jessica McMann – The Bear and the Wild Rose, Home, Muskwas Mountain Home [AB]
Katerina Gimon – Borealis, Roots Beneath [BC]
T Patrick Carrabré – Transformation, Orpheus 1 [BC]
Vincent Ho – Sandman's Castle, R1ddler [AB]
Country Artist of the Year
Gord Bamford [AB]
Hunter Brothers [SK]
JoJo Mason [BC]
Nice Horse [AB]
Whitehorse [MB]   
Electronic & Dance Artist of the Year            
Boogey the Beat [MB]
Khanvict [BC]
Modern Biology [BC]
The Librarian [BC]
Francophone Artist of the Year                 
Andrina Turenne [MB]
Jérémie & the Delicious Hounds [MB]
Jocelyne Baribeau [MB]
Sala [MB]
Sympa César [AB]      
Global Artist of the Year 
Cristian de la Luna [AB]
El Leon & the Strangers [MB]
Gisela Romero [AB]
Onna Lou [MB]
Ruby Singh [BC]  
Indigenous Artist of the Year 
Blue Moon Marquee [BC]
Celeigh Cardinal [AB]
Jayli Wolf [BC]
Snotty Nose Rez Kids [BC]       
Instrumental Artist of the Year                      
Adam Dobres [BC]
Elise Boeur & Adam Iredale-Gray [BC] 
Glen Gillis [SK]
Hello Moth [AB]
Jasmine Jazz [BC]  
Jazz Artist of the Year            
Chris Andrew [AB]
Jocelyn Gould [MB]
Melody Diachun [BC]
Up and Over Trio [AB]
Winnipeg Jazz Orchestra [MB]     
Metal & Hard Music Artist of the Year                      
Gnarwhal [NT]
Grimelda [SK]
KEN mode [MB]
New Jacobin Club [SK]
Osyron [AB]    
Pop Artist of the Year            
Begonia [MB]
Josh Ramsay [BC]
Kaeley Jade [AB]
Louise Burns [BC]
Producer of the Year             
Boogey the Beat [MB]
deadmen [MB]
Jill Barber, Erik P. H. Nielsen [BC]
Kevvy [BC]
Louise Burns [BC]  
R&B Artist of the Year 
Jérémie & the Delicious Hounds [MB]
Katie Tupper [SK]
Kuba Oms [BC]
Major Funk [YT]
Rap & Hip Hop Artist of the Year                   
Arlo Maverick [AB]
Boslen [BC]
Cartel Madras [AB]
Dill the Giant [MB] 
Snotty Nose Rez Kids [BC]  
Recording of the Year
Dear Rouge [BC]
Snotty Nose Rez Kids [BC] 
Whitehorse [MB]
William Prince [MB]
Rock Artist of the Year 
Dan Mangan [BC]
Hotel Mira [BC]
Kris Anders [BC]
The Royal Foundry [AB]
The Zolas [BC]
Roots Artist of the Year             
Jake Vaadeland [SK]
Jill Barber [BC]
Mariel Buckley [AB]
The Bros. Landreth [MB]
William Prince [MB]   
Songwriter(s) of the Year 
Alexa Dirks and Matt Peters – Begonia, "Butterfly" [MB]
Leith Ross – "We'll Never Have Sex" [MB]
Ryan Dyck – Skinny Dyck, "TV Blue" [AB]
William Prince – "When You Miss Someone" [MB]
Young D, Yung Trybez – Snotty Nose Rez Kids, "Hot Planet" [BC]
Spiritual Artist of the Year                 
Andrea Menard [BC]
Cikwes [AB]
Dee Daniels [BC]
Stirling John [AB]
Two Late to the Party [AB]  
Video Director of the Year 
Jayli Wolf – "Holding On" [BC]
Lester Lyons-Hookham – Dan Mangan "Fire Escape" [BC]
Mayumi Yoshida – "Different Than Before" [BC]
Michael Linton – Mariel Buckley, "Neon Blue" [MB] 
Ryan Steel – Begonia, "Married by Elvis" [MB]

Industry Nominees:
Audio Engineering Award
Andy Schichter [BC]
Cam Loeppky [MB]
Eric Cinnamon [AB]
Johnny Gasparic [AB]
Sheldon Zaharko [BC]
Community Excellence Award                       
ADVANCE Canada's Black Music Business Collective [BC]  
Folk on the Rocks [NT]
Good + Plenty Arts Collective [MB]
Hitmakerz [NV]
National Music Centre [AB]
Excellence in Visual Design                
Feisty Creative [BC]
Lyle Bell [AB]
MAUVEY and Bree Laryea [BC]
Roberta Landreth [MB]
Sonny Assu [BC]  
Impact in Artist Development           
Birthday Cake Media [MB]
Chris Wynters [AB]
Paquin Artists Agency [MB]
Tiny Kingdom [BC]
UWIDO [BC]    
Impact in Live Music
Folk on the Rocks [NT]
JazzYYC [AB]
National Music Centre [AB]
Paquin Artists Agency [MB]
West End Cultural Centre [MB]  
Impact in Music Marketing                
All Good Promotion & Marketing [AB] 
Birthday Cake Media [MB]
Chronograph Records [AB]
National Music Centre [AB]
West End Cultural Centre [MB]

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage