Thrice Announce 'Horizons/East' Album, Share New Song "Scavengers"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jul 20, 2021

Nearly three years removed from releasing Palms, Thrice have detailed plans for a follow-up. The California outfit will share new album Horizons/East digitally on September 17 through Epitaph, while physical editions will follow on October 8.

Self-produced and recorded by Thrice at their own New Grass Studio, Horizons/East is said to be a "soundtrack for deeper dreaming" and a "a musical summons to everyday attentiveness," headlined by newly arrived single "Scavengers."

"Scavengers" opens with Dustin Kensrue painting a bleak lyrical picture of our current moment, singing, "Overhead, are those angels or vultures? / Heavy wings and the hum of decay / They seethe and hover / Skew and smother the light of day."

Songwriting for the 10-song effort is also said to have found the band challenging themselves through "building a song using the quartal chords they found in much of the jazz they loved," or loosely ripping a page from the book of Tool through "taking the Fibonacci sequence and turning it into a guitar riff."

Thrice will also tour the U.S. this fall alongside Touché Amoré, Jim Ward and Self Defense Family. More details on the run can be found here.


1. The Color of the Sky
2. Scavengers
3. Buried In the Sun
4. Northern Lights
5. Summer Set Fire To the Rain
6. Still Life
7. The Dreamer
8. Robot Soft Exorcism
9. Dandelion Wine
10. Unitive/East

Pre-order Horizons/East.

Latest Coverage