Thrice's Dustin Kensrue Is 'Desert Dreaming' on New Solo Album

Stratford's Cat Clyde teams with the songwriter on opener "Death Valley Honeymoon"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Feb 7, 2024

Dustin Kensrue has detailed a new solo album. The Thrice vocalist will share Desert Dreaming on April 5 via BMG.

Said to be Kensrue's "love letter to the Southwest," the self-produced Desert Dreaming is said to be inspired partially by childhood trips spent with his grandparents in the Mojave Desert, and the stark landscapes of his American home.

The 10-song album mixes biography, fiction and history to give both the listener and its writer a newfound appreciation for the things that have been in front of us all along.

Kensrue offers in a statement, "There are things we can only learn in encounters in the hinterlands, both of the world and of our souls. It's so easy to miss what’s right in front of us when we are set on finding something else and looking through mental and spiritual lenses that filter out so much."

Album opener and first single, "Death Valley Honeymoon," lands today alongside the announcement, detailing the true story of how the songwriters met and eventually spent their honeymoon in the titular destination. An accompanying video finds Kensrue joined in performance by Stratford, ON-hailing singer-songwriter (and Exclaim! Class Of 2022 alumnus) Cat Clyde.

Kensrue will also take Desert Dreaming on tour in the US this April and May, with further details available via his official tour website.

Desert Dreaming:

1. Death Valley Honeymoon (feat. Cat Clyde)
2. Scalers High
3. Treasure in the West
4. Lift Your Eyes
5. Western Skies
6. The Heart of Sedona
7. Sage & Lilac Sage
8. The Light of the Moon
9. Leaving Tonight for Santa Fe
10. Desert Dreaming 

Latest Coverage