Suffocation Sing 'Hymns from the Apocrypha' on New Album

The band bring their 11th album to Canada on tour this fall

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Sep 13, 2023

Suffocation did tease some "HUGE announcements" late last month before the calendar flipped, and the death metal vets have delivered in detailing a new album.

Hymns from the Apocrypha, the band's 11th studio LP, arrives November 3 via Nuclear Blast.

Nine tracks in length, Hymns from the Apocrypha marks Suffocation's first recording with vocalist Ricky Myers at the helm following the departure of co-founding throat Frank Mullen, who left the band in 2018 after three decades behind the mic.

Myers, who has previously joined Suffocation to fill in for Mullen on occasion, called the album "a testament to our devotion to brutal music" in a statement.

You can hear just how deep that devotion goes with "Seraphim Enslavement," arriving complete with a video directed by Tom Flynn.

As previously reported, Suffocation have lined up a co-headlining North American tour with Immolation set for later this year, which makes three stops in Canada.

Pre-order Hymns from the Apocrypha.

Hymns from the Apocrypha:

1. Hymns from the Apocrypha
2. Perpetual Deception
3. Dim Veil of Obscurity
4. Immortal Execration
5. Seraphim Enslavement
6. Descendants
7. Embrace the Suffering
8. Delusions of Mortality
9. Ignorant Deprivation

Latest Coverage