Steve Earle & the Dukes Detail Album of Justin Townes Earle Songs

Preview 'J.T.' with the newly shared song "Harlem River Blues"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Nov 18, 2020

Steve Earle & the Dukes have detailed a new album of songs written by the late Justin Townes Earle. The 10-song J.T. will arrive through New West Records on January 4, which would have been Justin Townes Earle's 39th birthday.

After sharing their plans in September, Steve Earle & the Dukes recorded J.T. in October. "Harlem River Blues" is the first track to arrive from the collection, and you can hear it below.

As previously reported, 100 percent of artist advances and royalties will go to a trust for Justin's daughter, Etta St. James Earle.

"The record is called J.T. because Justin was never called anything else until he was nearly grown. Well, when he was little, I called him Cowboy," Steve Earle said in a statement. "For better or worse, right or wrong, I loved Justin Townes Earle more than anything else on this earth. That being said, I made this record, like every other record I've ever made... for me. It was the only way I knew to say goodbye."

Justin Townes Earle, son of the elder Earle, passed away in August at age 38. A preliminary investigation by Nashville police indicated that the singer-songwriter's cause of death was a "probable drug overdose." He released The Saint of Lost Causes through New West in 2019.

Steve Earle & the Dukes shared Ghosts of West Virginia earlier this year.


1. I Don't Care
2. Ain't Glad I'm Leaving
3. Maria
4. Far Away In Another Town
5. They Killed John Henry
6. Turn Out My Lights
7. Lone Pine Hill
8. Champagne Corolla
9. The Saint Of Lost Causes
10. Harlem River Blues
11. Last Words

Latest Coverage