Slow Down Molasses Ready New Album 'Minor Deaths'

Watch a video for the track "Son of Titanic"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jun 8, 2021

After making an April return with single "Street Haunting," Slow Down Molasses have detailed a new full-length album. The Saskatoon four-piece will deliver Minor Deaths on October 8 via Noyes Records/Divine Schism.

Minor Deaths follows Slow Down Molasses' 2016 full-length 100% Sunshine and is said to be the group's "most concise and devastating" recording to date.

The eight-track effort was as mixed by Yamantaka // Sonic Titan's Alaska B, mastered by Ryan Morey (Big Brave, Suuns, Besnard Lakes), and engineered by Mike Lefebvre at Saskatoon's Sweat Shoppe studio and rehearsal space.

New track "Song of Titanic" arrives alongside today's news, complete with an accompanying video illustrated and animated by bassist Chrix Morix that chronicles some skeletal self-care.

The band's Tyson McShane calls "Song of Titanic" both "a personal call out and a call for help," sharing the following of Slow Down Molasses' latest:

Lyrically the song dives into conflicting feelings at those points where you feel like you've lost perspective on yourself or ability to live up to your beliefs. This was partially inspired by my typical feelings of self-doubt, but also equally by the amazing (and necessary) protests that have happened over the last couple years to reexamine the status quo and what is good and equitable. When coming from the privileged position all of us in this band tend to be in, it's important to be questioning ourselves and if we are doing as much as we should to address inequality in society, even though that can be uncomfortable at times and leave a person in a discombobulated state.

Minor Deaths:

1. I Need the Darkness
2. Revisionists
3. Son of Titanic
4. Some Fine Action
5. Please Stop Paying Such Close Attention
6. Street Haunting
7. Hot Furnaces Are Hot!
8. Nihilist Whisper

Pre-order Minor Deaths.

Latest Coverage