Porcupine Tree Announce First New Album in 12 Years

"Harridan" is the first song to arrive from 'Closure / Continuation'
Porcupine Tree Announce First New Album in 12 Years
Photo: Alex Lake
Porcupine Tree have returned to action, sharing details of their first album in 12 years. The English prog outfit — now a trio of frontman Steven Wilson, keyboardist Richard Barbieri and drummer Gavin Harrison — will deliver Closure / Continuation, due June 24 via Music For Nations/Megaforce Records.

Eight-minute single "Harridan" is the first song from the new effort, and you can hear it alongside a lyric video below. Closure / Continuation follows Porcupine Tree's 2009 double album The Incident.

"'Harridan' and a few of the other new songs have been in play since shortly after the release of The Incident," the trio explain of their latest. "They initially lived on a hard drive in a slowly growing computer file marked PT2012, later renamed PT2015, PT2018, and so on. There were times when we even forgot they were there, and times when they nagged us to finish them to see where they would take us.

"Listening to the finished pieces, it was clear that this wasn't like any of our work outside of the band – the combined DNA of the people behind the music meant these tracks were forming what was undeniably, unmistakably, obviously a Porcupine Tree record. You'll hear all of that DNA flowing right through 'Harridan.'"

Porcupine Tree have also mapped out a European tour, which you can find dates for here. The band have shared that American and Canadian live dates will be announced early next year.

In January, Wilson released solo album THE FUTURE BITESLast year, Porcupine Tree shared rare recordings on Bandcamp.