Pinegrove Announce Feature Film and Soundtrack 'Amperland, NY'

Watch the trailer and listen to a new recording of "Morningtime"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Dec 3, 2020

Pinegrove have announced a feature film, as well as a 21-song accompanying soundtrack — both titled Amperland, NY after the band's longtime home in Upstate New York. The career-spanning, set list-length soundtrack will arrive digitally on January 15, while physical editions will come out on February 26 through Rough Trade

Written by Evan Stephens Hall and directed by Kenna Hynes, the film was produced by Chromoscope Pictures. On January 13, Pinegrove have scheduled a ticketed livestream premiere event, which will act as a fundraiser for the Sunrise Movement. Actor Busy Philipps is scheduled to host a Q&A following the screening.

In a statement, Hall said the film is "threaded by a surreal, giddy narrative — reimaginings of our songbook and first-time-imaginings of Pinegrovian tall tales."

The band's new project follows their 2020 album Marigold, which arrived back in January.

Watch a trailer for Amperland, NY below, where you can also find the soundtrack's first single, "Morningtime (Amperland, NY)." The song originally appeared on the band's debut self-titled album in 2012.

Amperland, NY:

1. Moment (Amperland, NY)
2. Dotted Line (Amperland, NY)
3. No Drugs (Amperland, NY)
4. The Alarmist (Amperland, NY)
5. Morningtime (Amperland, NY)
6. Sunday (Amperland, NY)
7. Alcove (Amperland, NY)
8. Thanksgiving (Amperland, NY)
9. Peeling Off the Bark (Amperland, NY)
10. On Jet Lag (Amperland, NY)
11. The Metronome (Amperland, NY)
12. Skylight (Amperland, NY)
13. Spiral (Amperland, NY)
14. Overthrown (Amperland, NY)
15. Hairpin (Amperland, NY)
16. Need (Amperland, NY)
17. Endless (Amperland, NY)
18. Amulets/Light On (Amperland, NY)
19. Paterson & Leo (Amperland, NY)
20. Phase (Amperland, NY)
21. Intrepid (Amperland, NY)

Latest Coverage