New Order Announce 'Music Complete'

New Order Announce 'Music Complete'
Several months after New Order announced that they had signed a record deal with Mute, the veteran band have offered up the details on their label debut. The album will be called Music Complete, and it hits stores on September 25.

The album will be New Order's first since 2005's Waiting for the Sirens' Call. A press release notes that it was mostly self-produced, though the record's "Singularity" and "Unlearn This Hatred" were produced by the Chemical Brothers' Tom Rowlands. Stuart Price also gets a co-producer credit for "Superheated."

Proper samples have yet to arrive, but the group did let loose a patented blast of synths and four-on-the-floor kick drum in a quickie album teaser. You'll find it, as well as a tracklisting that may or may not include a Little Richard cover ("Tutti Frutti"), down below. That's the cover art, prepped by longtime visual collaborator Peter Saville, up above.

The album will come on CD, digitally, black vinyl and limited-edition clear vinyl. Plus, there will be an eight-LP vinyl box of the release that will hold the regular album, plus extended versions of all 11 tracks, all on coloured vinyl. You can pre-order the album here.

While New Order had originally recorded for since-shuttered imprint Factory, the last several New Order albums had been issued through London/Universal Music. Of returning to an indie, the band had said last fall: "Mute has a superb roster of artists and a history that complements our own. In many ways joining the label feels like we are coming home, returning to our independent roots."

Music Complete features the current New Order lineup of Bernard Sumner, Gillian Gilbert, Stephen Morris, Tom Chapman and Phil Cunningham. It is founding keyboardist Gilbert's first record with the band since 2001's Get Ready, and also the first album to not feature Peter Hook on bass. Following a breakup in 2007, the band got back together without Hook in 2011.

Relations have been icy since, with Hook taking objection to Sumner's Chapter and Verse memoirs from 2014, calling them falsified and Sumner "very, very unreliable."

A press release also promises tour dates behind the new album to be announced soon. 

Music Complete:

1. Restless
2. Singularity
3. Plastic
4. Tutti Frutti
5. People On The High Line
6. Stray Dog
7. Academic
8. Nothing But A Fool
9. Unlearn This Hatred
10. The Game
11. Superheated