Neutral Milk Hotel Detail 'Collected Works' Box Set

Hear the first official release of "Little Birds"

BY Alex HudsonPublished Jan 10, 2023

Neutral Milk Hotel have announced a career-spanning box set. The Collected Works of Neutral Milk Hotel is out February 24 through Merge, and it includes the first official release of the rare track "Little Birds," which can be heard now.

Neutral Milk Hotel's Jeff Mangum self-released a box set back in 2011. This Merge edition of Collected Works contains some extras not on that box set (including, of course, "Little Birds").

It includes 1998's In the Aeroplane over the Sea, the expanded double LP edition of 1996's On Avery Island, the EPs Ferris Wheel on Fire and Everything Is, a 12-inch picture disc version of Live at Jittery Joe's, and a few 7-inches: "You've Passed" b/w "Where You'll Find Me Now," "Holland 1945" b/w "Engine," and "Little Birds" (with a live version and a studio demo, both dating back to 1998).

Collected Works is available to pre-order here. Listen to "Little Birds" below and the box set's tracklist below that.

In the Aeroplane over the Sea:

1. King of the Carrot Flowers Pt. 1
2. King of Carrot Flowers Pts. 2 & 3
3. In The Aeroplane Over the Sea
4. Two-Headed Boy
5. Fool
6. Holland, 1945
7. Communist Daughter
8. Oh Comely
9. Ghost
10. [untitled]
11. Two-Headed Boy Pt. 2
On Avery Island:

1. Song Against Sex
2. You've Passed
3. Someone Is Waiting
4. A Baby for Pree
5. Marching Theme
6. Where You'll Find Me Now
7. Avery Island/April 1st
8. Gardenhead/Leave Me Alone
9. Three Peaches
10. Naomi
11. April 8th
12. Pree-Sisters Swallowing a Donkey's Eye
Ferris Wheel on Fire:

1. Oh Sister (1995)
2. Ferris Wheel on Fire (1993)
3. Home (1992)
4. April 8th (1992)
5. I Will Bury You in Time (1994)
6. Engine (1993)
7. A Baby for Pree/Glow into You (1995)
8. My Dream Girl Don't Exist (Live) (1992)
Everything Is:

1. Everything Is
2. Here We Are (For W. Cullen Hart)
3. Unborn
4. Tuesday Moon
5. Ruby Bulb
6. Snow Song
7. Aunt Eggma Blow Torch
Little Birds:

1. Little Birds (Live) (1998)
2. Little Birds (Studio Demo) (1998)
"You've Passed" / "Where You'll Find Me Now":

1. You've Passed (Alternate Version)
2. Where You'll Find Me Now (Alternate Version)
Live at Jittery Joe's:

1. Intro
2. A Baby for Pree
3. Two-Headed Boy
4. I Will Bury You in Time
5. Gardenhead / Leave Me Alone
6. Two-Headed Boy Pt. 2
7. I Love How You Love Me
8. Engine
9. Naomi
10. King of Carrot Flowers Pt. 2
11. King of Carrot Flowers Pt. 3
12. Oh Comely

Latest Coverage