MGMT Announce New Album 'Loss of Life,' Share "Mother Nature"

It's the follow-up to 2018's 'Little Dark Age'

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Oct 31, 2023

After teasing it on Reddit last month, MGMT have officially announced their fifth studio album, led by new single "Mother Nature."

Loss of Life is due February 23 as their debut on Mom+Pop Music following their previous tenure with Columbia Records. It's the long-awaited follow-up to 2018's Little Dark Age, as well as 2019 one-off track "In the Afternoon" and the 2022 live album 11-11-11.

The duo of Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser produced the 10-track album with Patrick Wimberly (Beyoncé, Lil Yachty) and once again had the LP mixed by longtime collaborator Dave Fridmann. Loss of Life includes the first-ever feature on an MGMT album, with Christine and the Queens appearing on "Dancing in Babylon" — which sees additional production from Danger Mouse.

"We are very proud of this album and the fact that it was a relatively painless birth after a lengthy gestation period, and are happy to be releasing this baby into the world with Mom+Pop," the band said in a statement. "Musically speaking, we are running at around 20 percent adult contemporary and no more than this, please."

Of the melancholic lead single, they added that the song "outlines the archetypical MGMT mythology of one hero attempting to get the other hero to come on the journey that they 'must' go on. One part sounds like Oasis."

"Mother Nature" arrives alongside a video animated by another longtime collaborator, Jordan Fish. Check that out below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.

Loss of Life:

1. Loss of Life (Part 2)
2. Mother Nature
3. Dancing in Babylon (feat. Christine and the Queens)
4. People in the Streets
5. Bubblegum Dog
6. Nothing to Declare
7. Nothing Changes
8. Phradie's Song
9. I Wish I Was Joking  
10. Loss of Life

Pre-order Loss of Life.

Latest Coverage