Members of Super Furry Animals Reunite as Das Koolies

Listen to their new single "It's All About the Dolphins"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jan 30, 2020

It's been a decade since Super Furry Animals' last full-length record, but members of the band have finally reunited as Das Koolies. Already, they've shared their first single under their new moniker, a track titled "It's All About the Dolphins" alongside a new music video.

Das Koolies comprises Huw Bunford, Cian Ciarán, Dafydd Ieuan and Guto Pryce — all the members of Super Furry Animals spare one, lead singer Gruff Rhys. Ciarán and Ieuan take the lead on vocals in his place on the new single.

According to a statement, "It's All About the Dolphins" is about "a specific case of animal mistreatment." It's also described as "compassionate, head-nodding, deep-bass-driven, party-ready, plugged-in, hook-toting, electro-beach-pop."

It's also the first new material from the Furry collaborators since 2009's Dark Days/Light Years, though Rhys has released a variety of solo works since that SFA album.

Does this new Das Koolies song signal the arrival of a new album from the project? While no details have surfaced so far, the future is looking good.

"More material follows," reads a statement from the band, "With more diverse inspiration, more voices taking to the front and more free musical expression."

Watch the video for "It's All About the Dolphins" below, and stay tuned for more information about this new project as it unfolds.

Latest Coverage