Super Furry Animals Mastermind Gruff Rhys Announces New Solo Album

Hear "Loan Your Loneliness" from 'Seeking New Gods'

BY Josiah HughesPublished Mar 15, 2021

When he's not making tunes with Super Furry Animals, frontman Gruff Rhys has carved out an impressive track record as a solo artist. Today, he's announced his seventh solo album.

The release is called Seeking New Gods and features nine new compositions from Rhys. Its first taste "Loan Your Loneliness" can be streamed below via a new video.

"The album is about people and the civilizations, and the spaces people inhabit over periods of time," Rhys said in a press release. "How people come and go but the geology sticks around and changes more slowly. I think it's about memory and time. It's still a biography of a mountain, but now it's a Mount Paektu of the mind. You won't learn much about the real mountain from listening to this record but you will feel something, hopefully. "

Seeking New Gods will arrive on May 21 via Rough Trade.

Seeking New Gods:

1. Mausoleum Of My Former Self
2. Can't Carry On
3. Loan Your Loneliness
4. Seeking New Gods
5. Hiking In Lightning
6. Holiest Of The Holy Men
7. The Keep
8. Everlasting Joy
9. Distant Snowy Peaks

Pre-order Seeking New Gods.

Latest Coverage