Mark Lanegan & Duke Garwood Team Up for New Album 'With Animals'

You can hear the pair's song "Save Me" now
Mark Lanegan & Duke Garwood Team Up for New Album 'With Animals'
Screaming Trees/Queens of the Stone Age hero Mark Lanegan is once again teaming up with multi-instrumentalist Duke Garwood for a new collaborative album. Titled With Animals, the second album by Mark Lanegan & Duke Garwood will arrive on August 24 via Heavenly Recordings.

With Animals follows up Lanegan and Garwood's 2013 album Black Pudding, and according to a press release, the new full-length features 12 new track that are "are spectral and sinewy, often defined by the spaces in between the sounds."

For a taste of that, you can hear the new album cut "Save Me" at the bottom of the page.

In a statement about the album, Garwood had this to say:

Over the years, we've recorded together and apart. This time, I started this record alone, with many animals as company. It flowed, I set to work and out it came. Our music is instinct, there is not much talking about it, just creating. I think that if you are at peace with your work, and feeling it right, it flows, and can feel 'easy.' Music isn't meant to be hard. Though sometimes it can burn you to ashes. Making music for a singer, so they can inhabit it with a song means hitting the right soul buttons. There is no hit without a miss. It is a healing record, for us the makers, and for the listeners. It grows natural. We are gardeners of sonic feelings.

Up above, you can check out the album's artwork, while its tracklist is below.

In related news, Lanegan recently confirmed he will be releasing his memoir Sing Backwards and Weep in spring 2020. The book will cover his time as "a low-level crack dealer and a homeless heroin addict, during the music phenomenon that rocketed out of the Northwest and brought the bands of some of his closest friends to the forefront of popular music worldwide."

Lanegan also just guested on the new Neko Case song "Curse of the I-5 Corridor," which is on her upcoming Hell-On album. That record is due out June 1 via Anti-.

With Animals:

1. Save Me
2. Feast to Famine
3. My Shadow Life
4. Upon Doing Something Wrong
5. L.A Blue
6. Scarlett
7. Lonesome Infidel
8. With Animals
9. Ghost Stories
10. Spaceman
11. One Way Glass
12. Desert Song