Marianne Faithfull and Warren Ellis Announce New Album 'She Walks in Beauty'

Nick Cave, Brian Eno, Vincent Ségal and more also contribute

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jan 15, 2021

Marianne Faithfull has reunited with Warren Ellis for her newest body of work, an album of poetry set to "sound collage compositions" titled She Walks in Beauty. The record arrives on April 30 via BMG.

Featuring contributions by Nick Cave (who plays piano), Brian Eno and cellist Vincent Ségal, the album marks Faithfull's first new release since contracting and recovering from COVID-19 back in April. She Walks in Beauty will find Faithfull reading works from Lord Byron, John Keats, Percy Bysshe Shelley, William Wordsworth and Lord Tennyson.

"I wasn't in doubt. I've been thinking about it for so long, this album, it's been in my head for so long, I think I really knew exactly what I wanted," she explained in a statement. "I just picked the poems I really loved, and I can't help but say I think I was very lucky. We got it."

Ellis added: "My preferred way of making music is to leave a lot of it to chance, to let accidents happen. I've been moving away from structures in things. This music is me attempting to push forward. I think it's as good as anything I've ever done, in terms of the spirit of it and the process I went through to make it."

Faithfull's latest studio album, a collaboration with Ellis titled Negative Capacity, was released in 2018.

See the album's tracklisting below.

She Walks in Beauty:

1. She Walks in Beauty
2. The Bridge of Sighs
3. La Belle Dame Sans Merci
4. Ode to a Nightingale
5. Ode to Autumn
6. Ozymandias
7. From the Prelude
8. Surprised by Joy
9. To the Moon
10. So We'll Go No More a Roving
11. The Lady of Shalott

Pre-order She Walks in Beauty.

Latest Coverage