Lingua Ignota Details New Album 'Sinner Get Ready'

Listen to her single "Pennsylvania Furnace"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jun 17, 2021

Lingua Ignota — a.k.a. the classically trained multi-instrumentalist, performance artist and vocalist, Kristen Hayter — has announced plans for a new album. Sinner Get Ready is out on August 6 via Sargent House, and today, the artist is giving us a sneak peek with a new single.

According to a release, the album finds Hayter dismantling "her own aesthetic language," and takes the form of an "unsettling portrait of devotion and betrayal, judgment and consequence, set in the derelict landscape of rural Pennsylvania, a neglected region deeply embedded with a particularly god fearing brand of Christianity, and where Hayter was living during the album's inception."

The nine-track album will mark a significant change in direction from the artist's 2019 record, Caligula.

Its lead single, "Pennsylvania Furnace," in particular, "reflects on the inevitability of God's judgment," and evokes "the legend of an 18th-century ironmaster whose dogs return to drag him down to hell after he throws them all into his furnace in a rage." Today, Hayter shares the song's accompanying music video.

Watch Hayter's video for "Pennsylvania Furnace" — which she shot, directed and edited — and see the album's tracklisting below.

Sinner Get Ready:

1. The Order of Spiritual Virgins
2. I Who Bend the Tall Grasses
3. Many Hands
4. Pennsylvania Furnace
5. Repent Now Confess Now
6. The Sacred Linament of Judgment
7. Perpetual Flame of Centralia
8. Man Is Like a Spring Flower
9. The Solitary Brethren of Ephrata

Pre-order Sinner Get Ready.

Latest Coverage