Willie Dunn Celebrated with New Light in the Attic Compilation

'Creation Never Sleeps, Creation Never Dies' is "the definitive overview of one of Canada's unsung musical heroes"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Feb 10, 2021

Light in the Attic's acclaimed, illuminating 2014 compilation Native North America, Vol. 1 opened with Willie Dunn's original song "I Pity the Country," and the label will now further examine the life and work of the Indigenous singer-songwriter and filmmaker with a new anthology.

Creation Never Sleeps, Creation Never Dies: The Willie Dunn Anthology is billed as "the definitive overview of one of Canada's unsung musical heroes." The compilation will arrive in physical and digital editions through Light in the Attic on March 19.

The 22-song set will feature rare and previously unreleased recordings, photos and interviews, along with Dunn's lyrics, discography and filmography, and liner notes from Native North America, Vol. 1 compiler Kevin Howes.

"Alongside Buffy Sainte-Marie, A. Paul Ortega, and Floyd Westerman, Willie Dunn is the most important singer-songwriter to emerge from Turtle Island in the 1960s," the label writes in announcing the comp. "Dunn was his own man, connected to the city and the land, a poet, troubadour, filmmaker, artist, environmentalist, and activist who strived to connect with his people and did just that, affecting generations of Indigenous artists and musicians."

Light in the Attic's pre-order page also points to contributions from the Dunn family, Bob Robb and American Canadian Abenaki filmmaker and artist Alanis Obomsawin. Artwork for Creation Never Sleeps, Creation Never Dies comes courtesy of Christi Belcourt and Alanna Edwards, while audio was remastered at John Baldwin Mastering.

The compilation's 2-LP vinyl format, pressed at RTI, is available on translucent red wax at independent record stores and opaque red vinyl online, as well as on traditional black vinyl. Further pre-order details can be found here.

Dunn's 10-minute 1968 documentary The Ballad of Crowfoot, often credited as the first Canadian music video, can be viewed below alongside Creation Never Sleeps, Creation Never Dies' tracklist.

Creation Never Sleeps, Creation Never Dies: The Willie Dunn Anthology

1. The Ballad of Crowfoot
2. Peruvian Dream (Part 1)
3. Charlie
4. Broker
5. I Pity the Country
6. Crazy Horse
7. Louis Riel
8. School Days
9. The Carver
10. O Canada!
11. Down by the Stream (Starlight Maiden)
12. Rattling Along the Freight Train (To the Spirit Land)
13. Pontiac
14. The Pacific
15. Nova Scotia
16. The Dreamer
17. Sonnet 33 and 55 / Friendship Dance
18. Wounded Lake
19. Métis Red River Song
20. Son of the Sun
21. The Lovenant Chain
22. Bear and Fish

Latest Coverage