​Laura Mvula Announces First New Album in Five Years

Preview her 'Pink Noise' with the first single "Church Girl"
​Laura Mvula Announces First New Album in Five Years
Laura Mvula has detailed her first full-length album since 2016. The UK singer-songwriter will share Pink Noise through Atlantic on July 2, marking her first effort for the label.

Pink Noise follows Mvula's 2016 LP The Dreaming Rooman album Exclaim! called "fearless, meditative, soulful and buoyant all at once." Earlier this year, she reworked a selection of songs from previous releases on her 1/f EP.

In a press release, Mvula calls Pink Noise "the album I always wanted to make," and offered up a few hints at its style and sonic direction:

Every corner is made warm with sunset tones of the '80s. I was born in 1986. I came out of the womb wearing shoulder pads. I absorbed the dynamism of the '80s aesthetic right from my first moments on this planet. Wrestling with identity seems to be one of the rites of passage of the established artist. Making Pink Noise felt like the most violent of emotional wrestling matches. It took three years of waiting and waiting and fighting and dying and nothingness and then finally an explosion of sound. As if it was always here this record is my most honest and unapologetic flying of the freedom flag. In my adult years I had forgotten how important dance was to me as a vital tool of my creative expression. I brought it back, just for me, so I could find my delight in dance again. And now I can't stop dancing. I can't wait to play this album live.

Alongside the announcement, Mvula has shared first single "Church Girl," which you can find below. She added the following of her latest song:

I am not my story. For so long I identified as the things that happen in my life, the things I do, good or bad. I'm letting go of this mind-made "me." I'm coming home to myself beyond the realm of form. I am not the thoughts in my head, or the things I achieve, or the shape of my haircut. I no longer "dance with the devil" on my back. I'm basking in the light of knowing my true self, the deeper "I."

Exclaim! named Dream State one of the Top 15 Soul and R&B Albums of 2016. Read our interview with Mvula.

Pink Noise

1. Safe Passage
2. Conditional
3. Church Girl
4. Remedy
5. Magical
6. Pink Noise
7. Golden Ashes
8. What Matters
9. Got Me
10. Before the Dawn