Jon Hopkins Announces New Album 'Singularity'

You can check out its first single "Emerald Rush" now
Jon Hopkins Announces New Album 'Singularity'
Following some recent teasing, Jon Hopkins has announced his new album. Called Singularity, the upcoming record is due May 4 via Domino.

The album marks the first from the UK producer since 2013's Immunity. And to give us a taste of what's in store, he's shared the new album track "Emerald Rush."

You can hear the thudding track below via a new animated video, directed by Robert Hunter and Elliot Dear.

A press release describes the new album like this:

Singularity begins and ends on the same note: a universe beginning, expanding, and contracting towards the same infinitesimal point. Where Immunity charted the dark alternative reality of an epic night out, Singularity explores the dissonance between dystopian urbanity and the green forest. It is a journey that returns to where it began — from the opening note of foreboding to the final sound of acceptance.

Shaped by Hopkins' experiences with meditation and trance states, the album flows seamlessly from rugged techno to transcendent choral music, from solo acoustic piano to psychedelic ambient. Its epic musical palette is visceral and emotionally honest: with a destructive opener full of industrial electronics and sonic claustrophobia and a redemptive, pure end on solo piano.

Singularity explores the connectivity of the mind, sonics and the natural world as it reflects the different psychological states Hopkins experienced while writing and recording. It is a transformative trip of defiance from his initial sense of frustration at the state of the contemporary world to the ultimate conclusion that a true sense of peace and belonging can only come from nature.

Singularity is intended to be listened to in one sitting, as a complete body of work.

That's the new album's cover art above, while the tracklist can be found below.


1. Singularity
2. Emerald Rush
3. Neon Pattern Drum
4. Everything Connected
5. Feel First Life
6. C O S M
7. Echo Dissolve
8. Luminous Beings
9. Recovery