John Grant Exhumes 'Pale Green Ghosts' on New LP

John Grant Exhumes 'Pale Green Ghosts' on New LP
John Grant's 2010 album, Queen of Denmark, earned Exclaim!'s Mark of Excellence, and now the former Czars frontman is getting ready to follow it up with another solo LP. Pale Green Ghosts will come out in Canada through Nevado Records on May 14 (it's due out March 13 in the UK via Bella Union).

The album was recorded in Iceland with Birgir Þórarinsson (aka Biggi Viera of GusGus) and Sinead O'Connor on backing vocals. It's said to be '80s-influenced, and a press release notes that it "adds sublime notes of dark, gleaming electronica to Grant's anticipated velveteen ballads, calling on all of the songwriter's influences and tastes."

In a statement, Grant called Pale Green Ghosts "an album I'm really proud of, that distils what I'm about down to its most essential components, better than ever before."

It was created in the wake of the songwriter moving to Reykjavik and announcing that he is HIV-positive.

Scroll past the tracklist to watch a video for the synth-driven, six-minute title track. Additionally, Dungeonesse's remix of "Black Belt" is also below.

Pale Green Ghosts:

1. Pale Green Ghosts
2. Black Belt
3. GMF
4. Vietnam
5. It Doesn't Matter to Him
6. Why Don't You Love Me Anymore
7. You Don't Have To
8. Sensitive New Age Guy
9. Ernest Borgnine
10. I Hate This Town
11. Glacier