John Grant Details New Album 'Boy from Michigan'

Hear the title track from the Cate Le Bon-produced album now
John Grant Details New Album 'Boy from Michigan'
John Grant has returned with details of his fifth studio album. The former Czars member will release Boy from Michigan on June 25 via Bella Union.

Following 2018's Love Is Magic, the 12-song Boy from Michigan was produced by Cate Le Bon and is said to be Grant's most biographical work to date, swinging between sounds "ambient and progressive, calm and livid."

The album's title track can be heard below alongside a video from Casey and Ewan. Grant says of the single, "I discovered the chord progression in the chorus of 'Boy from Michigan' on my OB6 back when I was working on Love Is Magic, and while I knew it would eventually become a song, I didn't know what to do with it yet. Sometimes you just know you need to take your time with certain ideas."

He continued: "The song sprang from a moment I experienced when I was about 11 and we were about to move to Colorado from Michigan; my best buddy took me aside and warned me about 'the world out there' — so the song is about the transition from childhood to adulthood, the simplicity and innocence of childhood and the oftentimes rude awakening that occurs when one crosses over into adulthood. It's also about romanticizing the past, which can be dangerous."

Boy from Michigan:

1. Boy from Michigan
2. County Fair
3. The Rusty Bull
4. The Cruise Room
5. Mike and Julie
6. Best In Me
7. Rhetorical Figure
8. Just So You Know
9. Dandy Star
10. Your Portfolio
11. The Only Baby
12. Billy

Pre-order Boy from Michigan.