​Hop Along's Frances Quinlan Announces Debut Solo Album 'Likewise'

Hear the record's "Rare Thing" now

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Oct 22, 2019

Hop Along frontwoman Frances Quinlan has revealed plans for her debut solo album. The record is called Likewise, and it's due out January 31 on Saddle Creek.
Quinlan recorded the album with her Hop Along bandmate Joe Reinhart, but it hears them exploring different sounds than we've heard from them before. Expanding beyond guitar-based tracks, the album features synthesizers, digital beats, harps, strings and a wide variety of keyboards.
The album artwork is pictured above, and it features a self-portrait by Quinlan herself.
The full nine-song tracklisting can be found below. It includes a cover of Built to Spill's "Carry the Zero," which serves as the album's closing track.
The first single, meanwhile, is a song called "Rare Thing." It's available to stream below.
Quinlan will also embark on a western U.S. solo tour this fall, and you can find the full list of dates here.
Hop Along's most recent record, Bark Your Head Off, Dog, was released in 2018.
1. Piltdown Man
2. Your Reply
3. Rare Thing
4. Detroit Lake
5. A Secret
6. Went to LA
7. Lean
8. Now That I'm Back
9. Carry the Zero (Built To Spill cover)

Latest Coverage