Hanni El Khatib Announces 'Moonlight' LP

Hanni El Khatib Announces 'Moonlight' LP
After spending 2013 with his Head in the Dirt, soulful L.A. solo artist Hanni El Khatib has revealed that he's currently fixing his attention on the skies above. His third full-length, Moonlight, arrives January 20 through Innovative Leisure.

While Khatib hit Black Keys member Dan Auerbach's Nashville studio for Head in the Dirt, a press release explains that the songwriter teamed up with engineer Sonny DiPerri, (Trent Reznor, Avey Tare) at Los Angeles' the Lair to lay down Moonlight.

The 11-song set is said to be influenced by the sounds of Ital disco, Suicide, Mobb Deep and ESG, with Khatib himself explaining in a statement, "What would it sound like if RZA got in the studio with Iggy Pop and Tom Waits? I don't know! That was my approach on everything."

The sessions had the artist performing the bulk of the album, using guitar, bass, synth and Mellotron, among other instruments. Joining him in the studio was drummer Ron Marinelli, with Khatib also having sampled and re-edited his collaborator's beats.

"My approach is still the same," Khatib added. "Do things you've never done before. Challenge yourself. Be free and be creative. The same thing holds true for everything I've ever done, whether painting or design or skateboarding or whatever. Do it for the right reasons-exploring yourself. That's what it's about."

You'll find a stream of the title track down below, as well as the tracklisting for Moonlight.


1. Moonlight
2. Melt Me
3. The Teeth
4. Chasin'
5. Worship Song (No 2)
6. Mexico
7. Servant
8. All Black
9. Home
10. Dance Hall
11. Two Brothers