Gwar Unveil 'Battle Maximus' LP, Stream New Track

Gwar Unveil 'Battle Maximus' LP, Stream New Track
Goo-covered scumdogs Gwar are set to make their return with Battle Maximus, which is due to drop September 17 via Metal Blade.

While last year the band noted the then in-progress LP was going under the working title Mad at the Sun, a press release confirms its current title, which acts as a tribute to Gwar's deceased bandmate Cory Smoot (a.k.a. Flattus Maximus).

"This album is both a tribute to Flattus and a telling of the next chapter in the story of Gwar," frontman Dave Brockie (a.k.a. Oderus Urungus) said in a statement. "The combo of the brand new album and show should satisfy even the most hardcore Flattus devotee with the fact that Gwar's slay-skills are as supreme as ever, and the band stands poised to embark on our most earth-shattering world tour yet. We have mourned, we have honoured, and now it's time to fucking devastate in the name of Flattus and the supreme entity that is Gwar."

The 13-song effort, which is also their 13th full-length overall, was recorded at the group's new Slave Pit Studios, which Smoot apparently had a hand in designing. It is the first LP to feature the six-stringer's replacement Brent Purgason (a.k.a. Pustulus Maximus).

"It is a highlight of my corpse-littered life to join my Scumdog brothers and continue the legendary legacy of the Maximus clan," the new guitarist said in a statement. "I am not so happy that Oderus vandalized my space-ship, effectively marooning me on Earth, but fuck's time to rock!"

Ahead of the September street date, you can stream the album's "Madness at the Core of Time" down below the tracklist.

Battle Maximus:

1. Intro

2. Madness At The Core Of Time

3. Bloodbath

4. Nothing Left Alive

5. They Swallowed The Sun

6. Torture

7. Raped At Birth

8. I, Bonesnapper

9. Mr. Perfect

10. Battle Maximus

11. Triumph Of The Pig Children

12. Falling

13. Fly Now