Geddy Lee Unearths Previously Unreleased Tracks "Gone" / "I Am... You Are"

'The Lost Demos' were originally recorded for his 2000 solo album

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Dec 5, 2023

Geddy Lee's My Effin' Life memoir has been keeping the Rush bassist/singer effin' busy. His new docuseries, Geddy Lee Asks: Are Bass Players Human Too? also premieres today on Paramount+ — and to mark the occasion, he has unearthed two previously unreleased songs.

The Lost Demos from the sessions for Lee's 2000 solo album, My Favorite Headache, have been found! Mixed and mastered by David Bottrill, the previously unheard "Gone" / "I Am... You Are" are now available across streaming platforms and are featured in the My Effin' Life audiobook. 

"I'm excited to see these 2 'lost demos' released — I loved the songs when they were written and in some ways they feel as fresh and perhaps more relevant all these years later," Lee shared in a statement.

Both tracks recapture the mood of the musician's solo LP, which he recorded with co-producer Ben Mink and drummer Matt Cameron. "Gone" is a cinematic, string-kissed slow-burn, while "I Am... You Are" dials more into the scale and grandeur of some of Rush's beloved epics.

Listen to Lee's demos below.


Latest Coverage