Gang Starr Detail First New Album in 16 Years

'One of the Best Yet' features Q-Tip, J. Cole, Talib Kweli and more

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Oct 18, 2019

After dropping new J. Cole-assisted single "Family and Loyalty" last month, DJ Premier has detailed a new Gang Starr album, marking the hip-hop legends first in 16 years and the first since the group's Guru passed away in 2010.

Titled One of the Best Yet, the new full-length arrives November 1 through TTT/Gang Starr Enterprises.

Alongside verses from Cole and posthumous appearances from the late Guru, the album also features M.O.P., Q-Tip, Group Home, Royce da 5'9"Jeru the Damaja, Talib Kweli, Big Shug and more.

As DJ Premier explained, he began work on the album in September 2017, with Guru's urn of ashes sitting on his production console.

"I never lost faith, or wavered. I still felt it inside of me, it just happened to be nine years later (after Guru's passing)," Premier said in a statement. "We all want the things we want right now, but I am a patient guy. I hung in there and I just kept believing."

A new song from the album arrives today with "Bad Name," which you can hear below. One of the Best Yet is now available for pre-order.

One of the Best Yet:

1. The Sure Shot (Intro)
2. Lights Out (ft. M.O.P.)
3. Bad Name
4. Hit Man (ft. Q-Tip)
5. What's Real (ft. Group Home & Royce Da 5'9)
6. Keith Casim Elam (Interlude)
7. From a Distance (ft. Jeru the Damaja)
8. Family and Loyalty (ft. J. Cole)
9. Get Together (ft. Ne-Yo & Nitty Scott)
10. NYGz/GS 183rd (Interlude)
11. So Many Rappers
12. Business or Art (ft. Talib Kweli)
13. Bring It Back Here
14. One of the Best Yet (Big Shug Interlude)
15. Take Flight (Militia Pt. 4) (ft. Big Shug & Freddie Foxxx)
16. Bless the Mic

Latest Coverage