Fontaines D.C. Return with New Album 'Romance,' Share “Starburster”

BY Allie GregoryPublished Apr 17, 2024

Fontaines D.C. got their hooks in basically everyone with 2022's Skinty Fia, and now, they're ready to make their return with fourth studio album Romance, arriving August 23 via XL Recordings.

"We've always had this sense of idealism and romance," the group's Conor Deegan shared of the album's title in a statement. "Each album gets further away from observing that through the lens of Ireland, as directly as Dogrel. The second album [A Hero's Death] is about that detachment, and the third [Skinty Fia] is about Irishness dislocated in the diaspora. Now we look to where and what else there is to be romantic about."

He continued, "We say things on this record we've wanted to say for a long time. I never feel like it's over, but it's nice to feel lighter."

The album is previewed today by lead single "Starburster," which arrives alongside an Aube Perrie-directed video. Check that out below, where you can also find the record's tracklist.


1. Romance
2. Starburster
3. Here's the Thing
4. Desire
5. In the Modern World
6. Bug
7. Motorcycle Boy
8. Sundowner
9. Horseness Is the Whatness
10. Death Kink
11. Favourite

Latest Coverage