Ex-Ought Members Announce Debut Album as Cola

Hear their new single "So Excited" from the forthcoming 'Deep in View'

BY Allie GregoryPublished Feb 22, 2022

Late last year, members of Montreal post-punks Ought, Tim Darcy and Ben Stidworthy, announced they'd be branching off to form a new band, Cola, alongside U.S. Girls drummer Evan Cartwright. Today, the trio have returned with news of their debut album Deep in View.

Arriving via Next Door Records on May 20, the 10-track album will feature already-released lead single "Blank Curtain," as well as brand new single "So Excited," which arrives today alongside a music video by Camille Anais Semprez & Cedar Teionietathe Jocks.

Stidworthy said of the track in a statement:

We would talk about this track as the "capstone" of the Cola record. It was that song that we would warm up with and get tight on since it was one of the first to really come together, plus it's fun to play. There are Cola songs of mine that predate this one but this was the one I was working on when Ben told me he was going to come back from grad school and we talked about jamming together. It clicked when we played it out with Evan and from there we decided to work on songs for a new project.

The first song Tim showed me, I had this special bassline which I had been playing at Ought soundchecks and was saving for the right moment. It fit perfectly in the first phrase of the chorus and felt like it was a sign.

The group will take their new album on the road this summer on a North American tour. So far, the trek's only Canadian date will find the band performing in Vancouver at the Biltmore on July 11. 

Listen to "So Excited" below, where you'll also find the record's tracklisting.

Deep in View:

1. Blank Curtain
2. So Excited
3. At Pace
4. Met Resistance
5. Degree
6. Water Table
7. Gossamer
8. Mint
9. Fulton Park
10. Landers

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage