Emilie Mover Signs to Nevado Records for 'Mighty Time'

Emilie Mover Signs to Nevado Records for 'Mighty Time'
Toronto/New York-based songwriter Emilie Mover has become the latest artist to join the Nevado Records roster, since the label will release her album Mighty Time on April 2.

We previously praised Mover's "smoky jazz sophistication" and "gently strummed coffeehouse tunes" when she released her album Seems So Long in 2011, but this record promises to be a little more upbeat. According to a press release, it "showcases a far more eclectic side of the velvety-voiced Mover" with hand claps and quirkily catchy tunes. There's also apparently more laid-back jazz tunes and dreamy synth pop.

This album comes on the heels of a diverse range of projects, including a children's album and a tribute to Peggy Lee. "I saw any opportunity to write songs as a new challenge," Mover said in a statement. "It's kind of like a puzzle, figuring out how to make a song work within much different sets of parameters."

See the album cover above and the tracklist below. Scroll past that to hear the mellow album cut "Ride with the Tide" and watch a video for the moody, piano-driven "Goodbye My Love," plus a clip for the largely French-language "Pret a Porter." You can also check out an acoustic rendition of "Fishes" filmed by Southern Souls.

Mover will perform at Toronto's Cameron House on March 22 as part of Canadian Music Week.

Mighty Time:

1. See You When
2. Fishes
3. Goodbye My Love
4. True Love
5. So Long Too Late
6. Ride With The Tide
7. You Don't Treat Me Right
8. Time in My Mind
9. Tell Me Why
10. Pret a Porter
11. Wasted Time
12. Only Him or Me