Dog Day Return with 'Fade Out,' Stream New Track

Dog Day Return with 'Fade Out,' Stream New Track
Halifax songwriter Seth Smith recently issued a chilling, minimal score for his horror film Lowlife, and now he's shifted his focus back to his self-proclaimed "fog pop" duo Dog Day. Their latest album is called Fade Out, and it's due out on December 10 through Fundog Records.

This is the band's fourth full-length, and according to a press release, it finds Smith and wife Nancy Urich "[venturing] into a realm of unapologetic classic-rock, guitar licks and dreamy textures." It's apparently a step away from the stripped down rawness of 2011's Deformer, since the record is said to be "bigger and more mature than its predecessors."

For a taste of this, stream the album cut "Wasted," which pairs garage-rock strumming with ultra-poppy melodies.

Also below, peruse the tracklist and Dog Day's upcoming tour schedule. The band have seven shows booked for December, all in Canada's eastern half. During these shows, Smith and Urich will be accompanied by Mark Grundy (Heaven For Real, Quaker Parents) on bass and Seamus Dalton (Monomyth, Nap Eyes) on drums.

Fade Out:

1. Blackened
2. Wasted
3. Joyride
4. In Another Life
5. Interview
6. Get High
7. Dirtbag
8. Alone with You
9. Lurking Fear
10. Sunset
11. Leave Your Body
12. Sandwich
13. Before Us  

Tour dates:

12/5 Charlottetown, PE - Hunters 
12/6 Moncton, NB - The Esquire
12/7 Halifax, NS - Marquee Club 
12/11 Montreal, QC - Drones 
12/12 Ottawa, ON - Pressed 
12/14 Toronto, ON - Cinecyle
12/15 Kingston, ON - the Artel