Colter Wall Sings 'Little Songs' on New Album, Shares Hoyt Axton Cover

The Saskatchewan singer-songwriter also covers the late Ian Tyson's "The Coyote & the Cowboy"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Apr 27, 2023

Colter Wall has detailed a new album. The Saskatchewan singer-songwriter will share Little Songs on July 14 via La Honda Records / RCA Records.

Following 2020's Western Swing & Waltzes and Other Punchy Songs, the 10-track Little Songs was cut at Yellowdog Studios in Wimberly, TX, with co-producer Patrick Lyons.

The album features eight Wall originals alongside covers of "The Coyote & the Cowboy" from the late Ian Tyson and "Evangelina" by Hoyt Axton, the latter of which you can hear below. Listeners may remember Wall covering the song in solo, acoustic fashion in a 2021 performance video shot at his prairie home. 

"These songs were written over the last three years," the Battle Creek, SK, native shared of his latest in a statement. "I penned most of them from home and I think the songs reflect that."

Pre-order and pre-save Little Songs.

Little Songs:

1. Prairie Evening/Sagebrush Waltz
2. Standing Here
3. Corralling the Blues
4. The Coyote & the Cowboy
5. Honky Tonk Nighthawk
6. For a Long While
7. Cow/Calf Blue Yodel
8. Little Songs
9. Evangelina
10. The Last Loving Words

Latest Coverage