Colter Wall Returns with 'Western Swing & Waltzes and Other Punchy Songs'

Hear "Cowpoke" and the album's title track now

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Aug 7, 2020

Nearly two years on from singing listeners his Songs of the Plains, Colter Wall has detailed a follow-up effort. The Saskatchewan artist will release new album Western Swing & Waltzes and Other Punchy Songs on August 28 through La Honda Records/Thirty Tigers.

Wall's self-produced third LP features 10 tracks and was recorded at Yellow Dog Studios in Texas fresh off a North American tour. The effort is said to pick up where Songs of the Plains left off, with the artist offering of the record, "these songs are punchier than I am."

Wall's band features Patrick Lyons (pedal steel, dobro, mandolin), Jake Groves (harmonica), Jason Simpson (bass), and Aaron Goodrich (drums), who are joined by Emily Gimble on piano and Doug Moreland on fiddle.

You can hear their rendition of the Stan Jones classic "Cowpoke" below, alongside the album's title track.

Western Swing & Waltzes and Other Punchy Songs:

1. Western Swing & Waltzes
2. I Ride An Old Paint/Leavin' Cheyenne
3. Big Iron
4. Henry and Sam
5. Diamond Joe
6. High and Mighty
7. Talkin' Prairie Boy
8. Cowpoke
9. Rocky Mountain Rangers
10. Houlihans at the Holiday Inn

Pre-order Western Swing & Waltzes and Other Punchy Songs.

Latest Coverage