Coeur de Pirate Covers the Rolling Stones, Amy Winehouse, Bon Iver for New 'Trauma' Soundtrack

Coeur de Pirate Covers the Rolling Stones, Amy Winehouse, Bon Iver for New 'Trauma' Soundtrack
Francophone chanteuse Coeur de Pirate (a.k.a. Béatrice Martin) is ready to let loose another LP, but this time around she'll put the focus on some of her favourite English language tunes to score the fifth season of Trauma. The soundtrack hits stores hits stores January 14 via Dare to Care Records.

A press release notes that Martin's follow-up to her last set of originals, 2011's Blonde, had her teaming up in the studio with collaborator, co-arranger and co-producer Renaud Bastien. Martin played most of the instruments on the album herself, running through classics and modern favourites from the likes of Kenny Rogers, the Rolling Stones, the Libertines, Bon Iver, Nancy Sinatra, Patrick Watson, the McGarrigle sisters and more. The instrumentation on the reportedly ethereal and intimate set includes guitars, piano and cello, among other soundscaping tools.

"What I like about covers is when you realize that even after you've deconstructed a song; it manages to keep its essence," Martin explained of the project in a statement. "I wanted to offer people something different. Take my cover of Kenny Rogers' 'Lucille,' for example. I didn't want it to sound exactly like the original version, so I went for a piano and voice approach, which made the song take on its full meaning."

You can get the first airy sample now via a stream of Martin's take on Amy Winehouse's "You Know I'm No Good."

Coeur de Pirate is the latest in a series of musicians who have contributed tunes to Trauma, with past artists including Ariane Moffatt, Pascale Picard and Martha Wainwright.

Trauma: Chansons de la serie tele Saison 5:

1. Ain't No Sunshine
2. Heartbeats Accelerating
3. Summer Wine
4. You Know I'm No Good
5. Music When The Lights Go Out
6. Last Kiss
7. Lucille
8. Slow Show
9. Bottom Of The World
10. Dead Flowers
11. The Great Escape
12. Flume