Calgary's Port Juvee Gets 'Revenge' with New EP

Calgary's Port Juvee Gets 'Revenge' with New EP
Following up on the promise of debut effort Bleachers, Calgary garage pop quintet Port Juvee have announced they'll get their Revenge on us when they issue an EP of the same name on October 21.

A press release notes that the upcoming six-song cycle landed the group a chance to work with Justin Gerrish (Vampire Weekend, the Strokes), an in-studio partnership that started by chance when the producer caught an earful of the act through the speakers at a soiree.

"It was in the recording stages of Revenge when we got a an email out of the blue from Justin," the band's Brett Sandford said in a statement. "He had heard our demo at house party in NYC the night before and thought we were really onto something with the sound and was looking for a way to get involved. His timing was perfect with Revenge coming together, so we started really diving into the songs to find them their own identities."

The record is said to flirt with an '80s post-punk direction, mixed with the studio sheen Gerrish had previously given to acts like Vampire Weekend and the Strokes. You'll find first single "All That's Fine," which features Julian Casablancas-styled baritone vocals and spritely, interlocking guitar melodies, down below.


1. Toe The Line
2. All That's Fine
3. Revenge
4. Half The Time I'd Rather Be Waiting
5. Just The Thing
6. Rooks

Tour dates:

09/18 Calgary, AB - Republik (Peak Performance Project Alberta Showcase)
10/03 Calgary, AB - The Ship & Anchor (Record Release Party)
10/10 Edmonton, AB - CKUA (Up + Downtown Festival)
10/23 Brooklyn, NY - Knitting Factory (CMJ)