Born Ruffians Announce 'SQUEEZE,' Their Second Album of 2020

Listen to new singles "30th Century War" and "Albatross" now

BY Matt BobkinPublished Aug 26, 2020

After spilling JUICE on everyone earlier this year, Born Ruffians are milking those sessions for a follow-up album. SQUEEZE is due on October 2 via the band's own label Wavy Haze in Canada and Yep Roc elsewhere. The band continue to double up on the fun by releasing two new singles, "30th Century War" and "Albatross."

The material from SQUEEZE dates back to as early as the sessions for 2018's Uncle, Duke and the Chief. As lead singer Luke Lalonde said in a statement, "We left with nine or 10 songs and ended up putting that out as Uncle, Duke and the Chief but also had this whole other group of songs that we wanted to do. We got in touch with Graham Walsh of Holy Fuck in Toronto and began recording with him, also without really knowing what we were doing. We were just recording because we had songs. And that's what ended up becoming JUICE and SQUEEZE."

Set to take a more psychedelic turn than earlier material, SQUEEZE will also feature Hannah Georgas on "Waylaid."

The press release hints at even more material to come, saying, "Rumour has it there might be some more poised power-pop pulp to come somewhere soon down the line — catch a developing theme here?" Clearly, their songwriting oasis is yet to run dry.

Listen to "30th Century War" and "Albatross" below.


1. Sentimental Saddle
2. 30th Century War
3. Waylaid (ft. Hannah Georgas)
4. Rainbow Superfriends
5. Sinking Ships
6. Death Bed
7. Leaning on You
8. Noodle Soup
9. Albatross

Pre-order SQUEEZE.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage