Avril Lavigne Gets Mark Hoppus, Machine Gun Kelly, blackbear for New Album 'Love Sux'

The second single from next month's LP drops tomorrow

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jan 13, 2022

The Avril Lavigne renaissance is about to be upon us in full force, and there's nothing complicated about it; the Motherfucking Princess will release her seventh studio album Love Sux on February 25 via DTA Records.

And she's recruited some special guests for the project: alongside previously announced collaborations with Machine Gun Kelly and blackbear, the album will also see none other than Blink-182's Mark Hoppus featured on the track "All I Wanted."

Love Sux will mark the follow-up to 2019's Head Above Water. The singer-songwriter has called the record "a love letter to women," and it seems like we can expect a sonic return-to-form. "I really went back to what sounds I originally was influenced by at the beginning of my career," she explained in a recent interview.

Shortly after signing to the Travis Barker-helmed label last year, Lavigne shared the project's first single — a pop-punk kiss-off anthem for the ages entitled "Bite Me." She promptly rolled out dates for her first Canadian headlining tour in a decade and appears to be genuinely having a great time working with the Blink-182 drummer; we really do love to see it.

The next single from Love Sux — "Love It When You Hate Me" — comes out tomorrow, according to a recent tweet from the reigning princess of pop-punk.

What better way to get in the celebratory spirit ahead of the 20th anniversary of her canonical debut Let Go later this year?

See the album tracklist below.

Love Sux:

1. Cannonball
2. Bois Lie (feat. Machine Gun Kelly)
3. Bite Me
4. Love It When You Hate Me (feat. blackbear)
5. Love Sux
6. Kiss Me Like the World is Ending
7. Avalanche
8. Déjà Vu
9. F.U.
10. All I Wanted (feat. Mark Hoppus)
11. Dare to Love Me
12. Break of a Heartache

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage