Angel Olsen Announces 'Forever Means' EP, Shares New Single "Nothing's Free"

The four-track collection is an extension of last year's 'Big Time'

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Mar 7, 2023

Has the case of the missing instruments been solved? Whether or not you've seen her organ, Angel Olsen is making do: she's back with an EP, led by new single "Nothing's Free."

Produced and mixed by Jonathan Wilson, Forever Means arrives on April 14 via Jagjaguwar. It follows last year's Big Time — one of Exclaim!'s best albums of 2022

The EP acts as an extension of the record, collecting four songs from the cutting room floor and the singer-songwriter's roads travelled that all revolve around the realization that there's no destination, no finish line. As Olsen put it in a press release, "Forever is to remain curious, never letting yourself think you're finished learning or exploring, while trying also to be kind and honest."
She added that the warm, sauntering "Nothing's Free" — which, yes, includes that missing organ and saxophone — was particularly difficult to exclude from Big Time, "but it felt more soulful than the direction of that record, it was coming from a different place. For me, when I wrote it, I was coming to terms with my identity and sexuality. I was opening up in a new way."

Olsen says the songs of Forever Means were written "in search of something," and while the yearning is palpable, there is also an undeniable sense of acceptance.

Hear "Nothing's Free" below.

Forever Means:

1. Nothing's Free
2. Forever Means
3. Time Bandits
4. Holding On

Latest Coverage