Alexisonfire's Wade MacNeil Unveils Soundtrack for Jay Baruchel's 'Random Acts of Violence'

Hear the score's "Slasherman Theme Song"
Alexisonfire's Wade MacNeil Unveils Soundtrack for Jay Baruchel's 'Random Acts of Violence'
Once again, Wade MacNeil of Alexisonfire and Gallows is venturing into film scoring, this time for the soundtrack to Jay Baruchel'a new horror flick Random Acts of Violence. For the score, MacNeil has teamed up with Andrew "Ango" Macpherson, and the pair's soundtrack will arrive via Dine Alone.

Random Acts of Violence - Original Soundtrack Music will come out digitally on on October 30, with a 2-LP vinyl release arriving in January.

According to a press release, "MacNeil and Macpherson have created an ominous, yet understated and unsettling style of electronica. Characterised by its atmospheric soundscapes and a pulsating, hypnotic edge, the score perfectly echoes the themes depicted in an uncompromising, visually stunning film."

While Baruchel is known for such films as Goon: Last of the Enforcers and Dark Side of the Ring, Random Acts of Violence is a full-on slasher film, promising to hold a mirror up to art, society and violence.

"When you're scoring a film you are creating a soundtrack for a world that doesn't exist," MacNeil said in a statement. "Finding the sounds and melodies for that bleak stretch of rust belt highway in 'Random Acts' was exhilarating. Making music to frighten people is such a unique way to spend your time in a studio. I love it."

Down below, you can hear the OST's newly shared track "Slasherman Theme Song."

Read Exclaim!'s review of Random Acts of Violence.

Random Acts of Violence - Original Soundtrack:

1. There Can Be No Beginning
2. Slasherman Theme Song
3. Welcome To McBain
4. Curious Ghost
5. Kathy's Book
6. From Myth To Man
7. 1, 12, 18
8. Albany
9. The Tryptch
10. The Churn
11. Who Comes Up With This Stuff
12. Albany (Reprise)
13. 4, 8, 35
14. Return To McBain
15. I Can't Wait To Show You
16. I Won't Scream For You
17. Last Page
18. Our Ending
19. Heartland At Night

Pre-order Random Acts of Violence - Original Soundtrack.