U2 Set Release Date for 'Songs of Experience' LP, Share New Single

U2 Set Release Date for 'Songs of Experience' LP, Share New Single
After unleashing "The Blackout," Irish rock gods U2 have unveiled details for their next studio album and shared another new track.

The band's previously teased Songs of Experience LP is set to arrive on December 1. It marks the follow-up to 2014's fellow William Blake-referencing LP, Songs of Innocence.

UPDATE (11/1, 1:30 p.m. EDT): The band have now unveiled the tracklisting for Songs of Experience, which you can find below. The record is set to feature 13 new tracks.

According to a feature by the New York Times, the new songs changed rather drastically from their early stages to reflect the current social and political climate. 

"We needed some distance from it," Bono said. "The world had changed. We needed to put things on pause to take in the scale of the change."

Producers on the new record include Jolyon Thomas, Ryan Tedder, Jacknife Lee and the band's longtime collaborator Steve Lillywhite.

"What's the difference between Innocence and Experience?" Bono continued. "The core of Innocence to me is a lyric from our second album, which says, 'I can't change the world, but I can change the world in me.' The core of Experience is — and this is cheeky! — 'I can change the world, but I can't change the world in me.' And so you realize that the biggest obstacle in the way is yourself. There are things to rail against, and there are things that deserve your rage, and you must plot and conspire to overthrow them. But the most wily and fearsome of your enemies is going to turn out to be yourself. And that's experience."

Unlike the surprising (or, as some might say, invasive) arrival of Songs of Innocence — which appeared out of the blue on iTunes users' devices — the Times reports that Songs of Experience will follow a more traditional rollout.
As such, the band have previewed the forthcoming record with a brand new single called "You're the Best Thing About Me." It's arrived with an accompanying lyric video, and you can check out both the audio and visual components in the player down below.

Songs of Experience:

1. Love Is All We Have Left
2. Lights of Home  
3. You're The Best Thing About Me
4. Get Out of Your Own Way
5. American Soul
6. Summer of Love
7. Red Flag Day
8. The Showman (Little More Better)
9. The Little Things That Give You Away
10. Landlady
11. The Blackout
12. Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way
13. 13 (There is a Light)