Teenage Fanclub Return with 'Here,' Premiere New Track

Teenage Fanclub Return with 'Here,' Premiere New Track
Nearly 30 years into their career and well into their adulthood, Scottish indie vets Teenage Fanclub have announced they're coming back with a new album. Here, the act's first full-length release in six years, will be issued September 9 through Merge Records.

The outfit's next 12-song set is the follow-up to 2010's Shadows, an album that also received a deluxe vinyl reissue in 2014. Described as "a textbook representation of democracy in action," Here features four tracks apiece from songwriters Norman Blake, Gerard Love and Raymond McGinley. The three founding members, along with drummer Francis Macdonald and keyboardist Dave McGowan, recorded the music at studios in Provence, France, Hamburg, Germany and their hometown of Glasgow.

Sonically, opener "I'm in Love" is said to possess an "almighty chime," while other parts of the record are apparently informed by the psych-pop experiments of the Byrds' The Notorious Byrds Brothers LP. It's also hinted at that "I Was Beautiful When I Was Alive" mixes California melodies with Germanic motorik rhythms.

Below, you'll find the full tracklisting info for the record, as well as a stream of its "I'm in Love." Pre-orders for Here can be found over, well, here.

Info on Teenage Fanclub's upcoming run of UK tour dates can be found here. It's as yet unclear if the group have plans to pop over to North America in support of their upcoming album.


1. I'm in Love
2. Thin Air
3. Hold On
4. The Darkest Part of the Night
5. I Have Nothing More to Say
6. I Was Beautiful When I Was Alive
7. The First Sight
8. Live in the Moment
9. Steady State
10. It's a Sign
11. With You
12. Connected to Life