Tears for Fears Announce First New Album in 17 Years

The duo are previewing 'The Tipping Point' with a video for its title track

BY Allie GregoryPublished Oct 7, 2021

British new wave legends Tears for Fears have just announced plans for their first new record since 2004's Everybody Loves a Happy Ending. Curt Smith and Roland Orzabal's new effort, The Tipping Point, will arrive on February 25 via Concord Records.

As per a release, the album finds the duo reflecting many of the personal and professional tipping points they've experienced over the last 17 years. The material comes as a collaboration with Charlton Pettus along with producers and songwriters Sacha Skarbek and Florian Reutte. 

"Before everything went so right with this album, everything first had to go wrong," Orzabal said in a statement. "It took years, but something happens when we put our heads together. We've got this balance, this push-me-pull-you thing — and it works really well."

Smith added: "If that balance doesn't work on a Tears for Fears album, the whole thing just doesn't work. To put it in simple terms, a Tears for Fears record and what people perceive to be the sound of Tears for Fears — is the stuff we can both agree on."

Today, they've shared the record's title track alongside a video directed by Matt Mahurin. Watch that below, where you'll also find the album's tracklist.

The Tipping Point:

1. No Small Thing
2. The Tipping Point
3. Long, Long, Long Time
4. Break the Man
5. My Demons
6. Rivers of Mercy
7. Please Be Happy
8. Master Plan
9. End of Night
10. Stay
11. Let It All Evolve
12. Secret Location
13. Shame (Cry Heaven)

Pre-order The Tipping Point.

Latest Coverage